Home News

For Dancers Only

A Lindy Hop Compilation

Catalog # 223

Bookmark and Share
1. Call It Whatchawanna (The New Al Grey Quintet)
2. I'm Gonna Sit Right Down And Write Myself A Letter (Jay McShann)
3. Everyday I Have The Blues (The Clark Terry Qnt. featuring Carrie Smith)
4. My Blue Heaven (Bob Wilber & Kenny Davern)
5. Blue Mance (Junior Mance)
6. Four Or Five Times (The Chiaroscuro All Stars featuring Joe Williams)
7. Boss Blues (Buck Clayton)
8. Undecided (Bobby Hackett & Vic Dickenson)
9. Bag's Groove (The Red Holloway Qnt. featuring O.C. Smith)
10. Social Call (The Dave Glasser Quartet)
11. I Ain't Got Nobody (Ruby Braff & Ralph Sutton)
12. Do Wah (Jay McShann/Ralph Sutton)
13. For Dancers Only (The Clark Terry Spacemen)
Notes: Ahhhh--the ideal Lindy Hop compilation. My walls are lined with towering shelves of swing music, but I have yet to find a single CD full of my favorite Lindy Hop songs. In my many years of DJing, I pay close attention to what excites dancers. Lindy Hoppers might not know the names on this CD: Jay McShann, Clark Terry, Junior Mance and Al Grey. But, their music always fills the dance floor and my ideal compilation would feature them all. I am thrilled that CHIAROSCURO has taken the initiative to consult dancers, compile the music of amazing artists, and present a collection specifically designed for your dancing pleasure.
Performers: Al Grey, trombone / Jay McShann, piano / Clark Terry, trumpet & flugelhorn / Carrie Smith, vocals / Bob Wilber, soprano saxophone / Kenny Davern, clarinet / Junior Mance, piano / Milt Hinton, bass / Joe Williams, vocals / Bobby Hackett, cornet / Vic Dickenson, trombone / Red Holloway, tenor saxophone O.C. Smith, vocals / Dave Glasser, alto saxophone / Ruby Braff, cornet / Ralph Sutton, piano / Buck Clayton, arranger
Producer: Andrew Sordoni, H. O’Neal, J. Bates, David Jacoby
Mastered by: Downtown Sound / Mix Masters
Artwork: Buck Brown